Church of England School of the Resurrection

Belong, Believe, Achieve

School Governors

School Governors play a vital role in supporting  the school They meet at least once a term as a full Governing Body and at other times on sub-committees. Governors are appointed for a period of four years. Governors may be contacted by letter through the school office or by sending an email to  with the subject line For the Attention of the Governors.

Headteacher- Miss Harrison

Deputy Headteacher- Mrs Owen attends as an observer

Chair of Governors is Mr Martin Ware, who is a foundation governor. 

Mr Ware took over this role in January 2020 after the sudden death of our previous Chair of Governors, Andy Harland. He will serve until September 21

Vice Chair of Governors is Rev Adam Robertson (September 2021)

Foundation Governors are appointed by the Diocese and then the Governing Body.

Foundation Governors

Mr Martin Ware was appointed by the church on 27.10.2020  to serve until 27.10.2024 .

Mr Adam Robertson was appointed as a Foundation Governor and Chair of the Resources Committee.

Mrs Phyllis Kelly-Cudjoe was appointed by the church on 27.10.20 and serves until 27.10.2024.

Mrs Lela Wells  was appointed by the Church in January 2019 and will serve until January 2023. 

Mr Babatunde Sekoni was appointed as a Foundation Governor  and is the Vice Chair of the Governing Body until September 21.

Parent Governors 

Mrs Bukky Balogun was appointed 01.03.21 and will serve until 28.02.2025. She was appointed by the Parents. 

Local Authority Governor

Moji Grenwell is our Local Authority Governor and was appointed 01/09/2021.

Staff Governor

Ms Carol Dytor. She was appointed on 8.12.14 was renewed in December 2018, She will serve until December 2022. She was appointed by the Staff.

Associate Governor

Robert Haigh appointed as associate governor from 8th November 2021 from Manchester Diocese

Governor Vacancies

One parent governor

Two foundation governors


kInstrument of Governance

This document was set on the 8th December 2014. It sets out the nature of the Governing Body and the School.

Point 4 The Governing Body shall consist of:

a) Two Parent Governors

b) One Local Authority Governor

c) One Staff Governor

d) One Headteacher

e) Seven Foundation Governors.

Point 6 The term of office for all governors except es-officio governors shall be four years

Point 7 Those entitled to appoint Foundation Governors are:

a) the Diocesan Board of Education who appoint one governor

b) the Parochial Church Council of the Parish appoint five governors

Point 8 

a) the holder of the following office shall be a foundation governor ex-officio

the Principal Officiating Minister

Point 9 The Ethos Statement

Recognising its historic foundation, the school will preserve and develop its religious character in accordance with the principles of the Church of England and in partnership with the Church at parish and diocesan level.

The school aims to serve its community by providing an education of the highest quality within the context of Christian belief and practice. It encourages an understanding of the meaning and significance of faith, promotes Christian values through the experience it offers to all its pupils.

Link Governor Roles 2021-22

Governor Pen Portraits

Attendance at meetings Academic Year 2020-2021




Full Governing Body


Resources Committee



Full Governing Body










Martin Ware












Babatunde Sekoni












Reverend Maria












Phyllis Akwei












Helen Kidd












Lela Wells












Tanya Manderson












Carol Dytor












 Adam Robertson












 Karen Owen 












Pecuniary Interests declared

Mr Ware works at Debdale for Greenwich Leisure Limited; a facility used by school